The Spiddal Optimist Dinghies resume racing with Keen Contest


Despite cool westerly conditions, the Optimist fleet at Spiddal, Co Galway completed their series of races yesterday for the club’s annual regatta last weekend.

The Optimist class was unable to start their first race at the Cumann Seoltóireachta an Spidéil (CSS) regatta on September 19, due to north-easterly winds which pushed the fleet below the start line.

However, six Spiddal Club boats went out on September 27, with Commodore Dave Cahill as the racing officer.

First place went to Sarah Donald, Rory McHale taking second and Micheál Breathnach third.

CSS competitors have taken over the Oppie Regatta – from left to right, Katie Gaynor, Ciara Ní Chonghaíle, Michael Breathnach (3rd), Rory McHale (2nd), Realtiín Boinnard and Sarah Donald (1st) before the results are announced Photo : Bartley Fannin)

Oppie Class Second Prize Winner Rory McHale with CSS Commodore Dave Cahill Photo: Bartley FanninOppie Class Second Prize Winner Rory McHale with CSS Commodore Dave Cahill Photo: Bartley Fannin

Katie Gaynor, Ciara Ní Chonghaíle and Realtín Boinnard also competed in the tight three-race race series.

Sarah Donald also received the Perpetual Optimist Fleet Trophy, which was presented to the club several years ago by the club’s former commodore, Dr. Tiernan O’Brien.

As Afloat previously reported, the annual CSS Regatta on September 19 marked the presentation of the John and Stephanie Hannan First Prize, in honor of the late circuit court judge, sea kayaker and CSS member John Hannan, who passed away. earlier this year.

His wife Stephanie Adams has been a junior organizer at CSS for several years, and their son Marcus is an active sailor and won third prize in the mixed fleet class at the regatta.

The new award – a bog oak canoe made by Spiddal glass artist Sue Donnellan was presented by Stephanie Hannan to Mark and Denise De Faoite, who were the fastest adult sailors in the 420 fleet.

The 420 class winners at the CSS Regatta were Ciaran Reaney and Cathal Conneely, with Mac O’Brien and Eoin Cahill taking second place.

Sadhbh Laila Riggott and Catherine Harvey took first place in the mixed fleet, sailing a Laser Pico, with Alanna Ní Thuairisg and Kate Ní Chonghaíle taking second place on a Topaz Uno.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.