It’s time to make history >> Scuttlebutt Sailing News


In the absence of a world title for the 18ft Skiff class, the JJ Giltinan 18ft Skiff Championship is held, held annually in Sydney, Australia. For a region that likes to go fast and a legion of legends with names on the trophy, it is once again time to make history.

When the 24 boats line up from March 14-22 for the 2020 JJ Giltinan in Sydney Harbor, defending champion David McDiarmid could become the first New Zealand skipper to win three titles in the 82-year history of the inaugural Championship. world of 18 feet.

McDiarmid, Brad Collins and Matt Steven will lead a team of three New Zealand boats in their Honda Marine sponsored skiff. They are joined by the experienced C-Tech team of Alex Vallings, Sam Trethewey and Matt Coutts, and the young and much improved Maersk Line team of Peron Pearse, Eli Liefting and Harry Clark.

McDiarmid is quick to point out that the Honda Marine campaign is largely a team effort. “It’s definitely not all about me. We are a team of three and everyone is essential to our success. When we all teamed up, we joked about our goal of winning three JJs, and now we have that opportunity.

“It wouldn’t be possible without the support we have received from a large group of people over the past seven JJs. With a lot of hard work we have improved year by year to first catch up with the Sydney fleet in 2016 and then overtake them in 2018. Our goal this year is to bring the trophy back to New Zealand.

“The highlight of our 18 foot campaign so far has been holding all four major international trophies at the same time. In addition to the JJ title, we won the Mark Foy in Fiji, the European Championship at Lake Garda and the ANZAC in Auckland.

“A lack of support for a variety of Sydney Fleet international regattas over the past few years has resulted in a disappointing decline in these international events. As usual, we will bring a big and strong New Zealand support team. ”

The Honda Marine team after winning the 2019 JJ Giltinan Championship.

Determined to regain the supremacy they have held for many seasons, the local 18-foot teams will do their utmost to reclaim the coveted trophy and spoil the Honda Marine team’s hope for a third consecutive title.

A group of five teams are currently leading the Australian challenge.

Recently crowned Australian Champion, Tech2 is a strong team that has been improving every week since the new boat had its first race in early December. The recent arrival of quadruple champion archer JJ Giltinan Trent Barnabas could give his skipper, Jack Macartney, his first JJ Giltinan title.

Other top teams include NSW Winning Group champion, which has a multi-championship crew in Giltinan, and 2018-2019 Australian champion James Dorron in Shaw & Partners Financial Services.

Finport Finance and Smeg have won individual championship races during the current season, but just need to be more consistent across the regatta to make an even stronger challenge.


The dates of the races are:
March 14 Race 1
March 15 Race 2
March 17 Races 3 and 4
March 18 Races 5 and 6
March 19 Race 7
March 21 Race 8
March 22 Race 9

Registrations for the 2020 JJ Giltinan 18ft single scull championship:
Honda Marine: David McDiarmid, Matt Steven, Brad Collins
Winning Group: John Winning Jr., Seve Jarvin, Sam Newton
Finport Finance: Keagan York, Matt Stenta, Angus Williams
Shaw & Partners Financial Services: James Dorron, Harry Bethwaite, Tim Westwood
Smeg: Micah Lane, Ricky Bridge, Peter Harris
C-Tech: Alex Vallings, Sam Trethewey, Matt Coutts
Tech2: Jack Macartney, Charlie Wyatt, Trent Barnabas Brett Van Munster, Phil Marshall, Kurt Fatouris
The Oak Double Bay-4 Pines: Aron Everett, Courtney Mahar, Charlie Gundy
Noakesailing: Sean Langman, Ed Powys, Nathan Edwards
The Kitchen Maker-Caesarstone: Jordan Girdis, Lachlan Doyle, Tom Quigley
Yandoo: John Winning, Mike Kennedy, Jasper Warren
Vintec: Kirk Mitchell, Pete Nicholson, Matt Wark
Maersk Line: Peron Pearse, Eli Liefting, Harry Clark
Rag & Famish Hotel: Bryce Edwards, Jacob Broom, Rory Cox
Birkenhead Point Marina: Tom Anderson, Elliot Scali, Tom Arkens
URM: Marcus Ashley-Jones, Cam Gundy, Lewis Brake
Ilve: Pedro Vozone, Matt Doyle, Jerome Watts
Queensland: David Hayter, Nathaniel Dutton, Elliot Mahar
Dal Zotto: Jack Sprague, Josh Feldmann, Marc Chapon
Noakes Blue: Yvette Heritage, Rory Hunter, Oliver Scott-Mackie
Bird and Bear: Tom Clout, Cameron McDonald, John Walton
Lumix: Alex Watson, Cooper Richmond, Ben Roxburgh
CMQ: Matt Rogers, Darren Rogers, Steve Wilson

Source: Frank Quealey, Australian 18 Footers League Ltd.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.